Melbourne Theatre Company presents

Torch The Place

By Benjamin Law
Theatre  ·  Australia

Share this event
Performance dates & times
Saturday 8 Feb
8:00 PM PREVIEW
Monday 10 Feb
8:00 PM PREVIEW
Tuesday 11 Feb
8:00 PM PREVIEW
Wednesday 12 Feb
8:00 PM PREVIEW
Thursday 13 Feb
8:00 PM PREVIEW
Friday 14 Feb
OPENING NIGHT
8:00 PM
Saturday 15 Feb
8:00 PM
Monday 17 Feb
6:30 PM
Tuesday 18 Feb
6:30 PM
Wednesday 19 Feb
1:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Thursday 20 Feb
8:00 PM
Friday 21 Feb
8:00 PM
Saturday 22 Feb
2:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Monday 24 Feb
6:30 PM
Tuesday 25 Feb
6:30 PM
Wednesday 26 Feb
1:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Thursday 27 Feb
8:00 PM
Friday 28 Feb
8:00 PM
Saturday 29 Feb
2:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Monday 02 Mar
6:30 PM
Tuesday 03 Mar
6:30 PM
Wednesday 04 Mar
1:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Thursday 05 Mar
8:00 PM
Friday 06 Mar
8:00 PM
Saturday 07 Mar
2:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Monday 09 Mar
6:30 PM
Tuesday 10 Mar
6:30 PM
Wednesday 11 Mar
1:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Thursday 12 Mar
8:00 PM
Friday 13 Mar
8:00 PM
Saturday 14 Mar
2:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Monday 16 Mar
6:30 PM
Tuesday 17 Mar
6:30 PM
Wednesday 18 Mar
1:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Thursday 19 Mar
8:00 PM
Friday 20 Mar
8:00 PM
Saturday 21 Mar
2:00 PM, 8:00 PM
Monday 23 Mar
6:30 PM NEW
Price range

Preview & Wednesday Matinee

Standard
from $75.00
Concession*
from $59.00
Senior^
from $59.00
Group 8+
from $71.00
Youth
from $37.00

Monday - Thursday Evening

Standard
from $90.00
Concession*
from $80.00
Group 8+
from $80.00
Youth
from $37.00

Friday - Saturday

Standard
from $93.00
Concession*
from $85.00
Group 8+
from $85.00
Youth
from $46.00

*Concession prices available for full time students and pensioners

^Seniors' prices available only on Wednesday matinees

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.95 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

For his hysterically funny and moving stage premiere, Benjamin Law employs his effortless self-deprecating wit to spark joy in the clutter.

Teresa’s mum finds it impossible to let anything go – from grudges to household objects. She thinks of her home as a museum full of irreplaceable treasures. But she’s not really a curator – she’s a hoarder – and her house is enough to give Marie Kondo heart palpitations. When her kids return home to celebrate her 60th birthday, she’s over the moon to have the family back together. But this isn’t a reunion. It’s an intervention.

Celebrated TV writer, Benjamin Law (The Family Law) is one of this country’s brightest literary stars. For his hysterically funny and moving stage premiere, Law employs his effortless self-deprecating wit to spark joy in the clutter and find truth in those crazy moments that bring families closer together.

Torch the Place features a stellar cast including Fiona Choi (The Family Law), Michelle Lim Davidson (An Ideal Husband), and Diana Lin (Little Emperors).

Notes

Audio description: 29 February at 2:00 PM, 3 March at 6:30 PM
Tactile tour: 29 February at 2:00 PM
Captioned performance: 7 March at 2:00 PM


Warning: Contains sexual references; mature themes; references to mental health issues; frequent coarse language; haze and smoke effects

For detailed information about Torch The Place's content, please see the MTC Production Content Guide

Accessibility

  • Wheelchair access
  • Companion Card
  • Assistive hearing
  • Tactile Tours
  • Audio description
  • Open captioned
Images by: Justin Ridler

Torch the Place was commissioned through MTC’s NEXT STAGE Writers’ Program with the support of MTC's Playwrights Giving Circle Donors, The Ian Potter Foundation, Naomi Milgrom Foundation, The Myer Foundation, Malcolm Robertson Foundation and The University of Melbourne.
Supported By
  • Melbourne Theatre Company
  • Next Stage Logo

Cast & Credits

Cast

Cast includes
Fiona Choi, Michelle Lim Davidson, Diana Lin, Charles Wu and Max Brown

Credits

Director
Dean Bryant
Set Designer
Isabel Hudson
Costume Designer
Kat Chan
Lighting Designer
Amelia Lever-Davidson
Composer & Sound Designer
Clemence Williams
Associate Director
Margot Tanjutco
LOADING